Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Массовое рождение звезд
17 April 2013, Samara

Большинство взрывающихся звезд рождается в ранней Вселенной, в галактиках, которые содержат космическую пыль. Но пыль образовавшаяся в этих галактиках присутствует в них в большом количестве, создавая тем самым трудность для их наблюдения в обычный телескоп. За последние 10 лет астрономы столкнулись с большими проблемами при наблюдении этих молодых галактик, в которых происходит массовое рождение звезд. Теперь после ввода в строй специального телескопа ALMA (Атакамский большой миллиметровый телескоп) было открыто более 100 таких галактик. В то время как в другие телескопы их не видно! На фотографии вы можете видеть некоторые из них.

Эти удаленные от нас галактики очень слабы, астрономы, используя наблюдения с помощью специальных телескопов могут проникать сквозь пылевую завесу, и одним из таких телескопов и является ALMA.

Он регистрирует излучение на других волнах отличающихся от световых. Это отличие характеризуется длиной волн. Радиоволны, видимый свет (свет, который мы можем видеть глазом) и микроволновый, который отличается длиной волны от световых волн. ALMA наблюдает Вселенную в радиоволнах, которые имеют длину около миллиметра. Они могут проникать сквозь темную материю этих галактик.

По предварительным данным эти галактики формируют звезды в тысячи раз с большей энергией, чем в нашей Галактике. Это приводит их к риску быстрейшего выгорания! Однако, новые результаты от ALMA говорят, что этих галактик самоубийц на самом деле достаточно мало, и формирование звезд в основном безопасно.

Интересный факт

Радиоволны длиннее волн света. Это все равно, что сравнивать сантиметр с длиной футбольного поля!

Share:

More news
6 December 2019
4 December 2019
26 November 2019
5 November 2019
31 October 2019

Images

Stellar Baby Boom
Stellar Baby Boom
What is Wavelength?
What is Wavelength?

Printer-friendly

PDF File
780.5 KB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
Funded by
Stellar Baby Boom
17 April 2013

The biggest bursts of star birth in the early Universe took place in galaxies that contained lots and lots of cosmic dust. But the dust that makes these galaxies so fertile obscures them from view, making them very difficult to spot with normal telescopes. For over 10 years, astronomers have been trying to get a close look at these young galaxies, which are all undergoing a massive stellar baby boom. Now, after just four weeks in action, the special ALMA telescope has managed to find over 100 of them. That's more than all other telescopes have found combined! You can see a selection of these galaxies in these photographs.

To pick these distant galaxies out from their murky surroundings, astronomers have to use telescopes that observe a special type of light that can penetrate the thick fog, the ALMA telescope is one of them.

One of the characteristics of light is that it behaves like a wave. Different types of light have waves of different sizes. The length of the wave is called the ‘wavelength’. This is measured from the tip (crest) of one wave to the tip of the next (see image 2). Radio waves, visible light (the light our eyes can see) and microwaves are the different types of light waves. ALMA looks at the Universe in radio waves, which have a wavelength of about one millimetre. These can penetrate the thick fog obscuring these fertile galaxies.

It was previously believed that some of these galaxies were forming stars a thousand times more energetic than our own galaxy, the Milky Way. This would put them at a high risk of blowing themselves apart! However, the new images from ALMA have revealed that these seemingly suicidal galaxies are actually just lots of smaller galaxies that are forming stars at much safer rates. 

Cool Fact

Radio waves are the longest type of light waves. Their wavelengths range from shorter than a centimetre to longer than a football field!

Share:

Images

Stellar Baby Boom
Stellar Baby Boom
What is Wavelength?
What is Wavelength?

Printer-friendly

PDF file
988.1 KB