Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Мы живем на острове во Вселенной
6 August 2014, Samara

Многие из вас могут узнать эту галактику: миллиарды сверкающих звезд, космического газа и пыли.
Сейчас почти каждый видел фотографию галактики, хотя менее чем 100 лет тому назад большинство астрономов всего мира не знали о их существовании!
Одним из самых важных событий в астрономии был большой спор между Харлоу Шепли и Спенсер Кертис в 1920 г. В то время существование галактик еще не было доказано. Большинство людей считали, что галактики были просто "спиральные туманности" в пределах нашей Галактики.
И этот аргумент поддерживал Шепли в ходе большой дискуссии. Он также считал, наша Галактика имеет диаметр 300000 световых лет, что в три раза больше, чем мы знаем в настоящее время. Он говорил, что наша Галактика это и есть вся Вселенная!
Против него был Кертис, который считал, что спиральные туманности на самом деле были отдельными галактиками или “островками Вселенной”, как их еще иногда называют. И что Вселенная гораздо больше, чем все полагали.
Сегодня мы знаем, что Кертис был прав относительно спиральных туманностей представляющих собой отдельные галактики. Наша Галактика лишь одна из сотен миллиардов галактик в наблюдаемой нами части Вселенной! На снимке вы видите одну из ближайших к нам галактик, которая расположена в созвездии Треугольник.
Но спор был не только по вопросу существования галактик, а он также коснулся размеров нашей Галактики. Кертис утверждал, что ее диаметр 30000 световых лет. Хотя и Шепли в некоторых вопросах оказался прав. Он совершенно верно утверждал, что Солнце находится на краю нашей Галактики, в то время как Кертис помещал его прямо в центр.

Новые факты

Галактика в Треугольнике является третьим по величине в «Местной группе», в которой мы находимся и она связана взаимным притяжением. Кроме галактики в Треугольнике в Местную группу также входят Туманность Андромеды и еще около 50 галактик меньшего размера!

Share:

More news
5 November 2019
31 October 2019
23 October 2019
11 September 2019

Images

Are We Living in an Island Universe?
Are We Living in an Island Universe?

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1.0 MB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
Funded by
Are We Living in an Island Universe?
6 August 2014

Many of you will recognise the object in this space photograph as a galaxy: a collection of billions of bright, shining stars, and cosmic gas and dust.

In this day and age, almost everyone has seen a photograph of a galaxy, making it hard to believe that less than 100 years ago most of the world’s top astronomers didn’t believe they existed!

One of the most important events in astronomy was The Great Debate between Harlow Shapley and Heber Curtis in 1920. Before then, the existence of galaxies was uncertain. Most people believe that galaxies were simply ‘spiral nebulae’ within our Galaxy.

This was the argument that Shapley was supporting during The Great Debate. He also calculated that the Milky Way was 300,000 light years across, which is three times larger than its true size as we know it today. Yet he said the Milky Way was the whole Universe!

Opposing him was Curtis, who believed that the spiral nebulae were actually separate galaxies or “island universes” as they were sometimes known. And that the Universe is much, much bigger than everyone believed.

Today we know that Curtis was correct about the spiral nebulae being separate galaxies. The Milky Way is just one of hundreds of billions of galaxies in the known Universe! In today’s picture you can see one of our closest neighbour galaxies, the Triangulum Galaxy.

But the Great Debate wasn’t as black-and-white as it might sound, Curtis did get some things wrong, like the size of our Galaxy. Curtis guessed it was 30,000 light years across instead of 100,000 light years. Whereas Shapley got some things right. He correctly argued that the Sun lies near the edge of our Galaxy, whereas Curtis placed us right at the centre. 

Cool Fact

The Triangulum Galaxy is the third-largest member of the 'Local Group', which is a group of galaxies bound together by gravity. As well as the Triangulum Galaxy, the Local Group also includes our Galaxy, the Andromeda Galaxy and about 50 other smaller galaxies!

Share:

Images

Are We Living in an Island Universe?
Are We Living in an Island Universe?

Printer-friendly

PDF file
1.1 MB