Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Путешествие на окраину Вселенной
5 June 2014, Samara

Что мы увидим, если Космический телескоп им. Хаббла, снимет, как нам кажется пустой участок неба? Мы увидим край Вселенной!
Сложим 10 одинаковых участков неба в одну линию, но не больше диаметра полной Луны. Несмотря на такую маленькую область неба она содержит около 10000 галактик, которые удалены от нас на более 13 млрд. световых лет (http://www.unawe.org/kids/unawe1378/ru/ )!
Этот крошечный кусочек неба снял «Хаббл» в 2004 г. Астрономам известно как рождаются звезды в ближайших галактиках и в удаленных.
Однако, существует очень мало данных о том, как происходит формирование звезд между ними на расстояниях от 5 до 10 млрд. световых лет, то есть когда и происходило основное рождение звезд во Вселенной. Это значительный пробел в наших знаниях о самых горячих, самых массивных и самых молодых звезд.
Эти звезды очень ярко сияют в ультрафиолетовой области спектра. НАСА и ЕКА использовали телескоп им. Хаббла в проекте под названием Ультрафиолетовое исследование глубокого Космоса, чтобы заполнить пробел в наших знаниях. Представленный снимок состоит из множества изображений полученных в рамках этого проекта.
Исследуя изображения в ультрафиолете, можно в полной мере понять как образуются звезды и как растут галактики.

Новые факты

Это одно из многих изображений полученных НАСА и ЕКА. Оно называется сверхглубокое проникновение в Космос и получено путем сложения снимков сделанных в течение 10 лет. Мельчайшие галактики на фотографии в 10 млрд. раз слабее, чем может видеть наш глаз!

Share:

More news
5 November 2019
31 October 2019
23 October 2019
11 September 2019
5 September 2019

Images

A Journey to the Edge of the Universe
A Journey to the Edge of the Universe

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1.0 MB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
Funded by
A Journey to the Edge of the Universe
5 June 2014

What happens when you point the Hubble Space Telescope to a seemingly empty patch of sky? You get a view that takes you to the edge of the Universe!

This photograph shows a tiny patch of sky. If you lined-up 10 similar sized patches of sky in a row, the whole thing still wouldn’t appear as wide as the Moon. But, despite being so small, this one patch of sky contains around 10,000 galaxies, some of which are over 13 billion light years from Earth!

This tiny patch of sky was previously photographed by Hubble in 2004, but the original image left astronomers in a curious position. The picture told them a lot about stars being born in nearby galaxies and also star birth in the most distant galaxies.

However, there was very little data on star-formation happening in between, at a distance of 5 to 10 billion light years away (around 5 to 10 billion years ago). This happens to be the period in which most of the stars in the Universe were formed. This left a significant gap in our knowledge of the hottest, most massive and youngest stars.

These stars shine large amounts of ultraviolet light (the kind of light that causes sunburn). So, NASA and the European Space Agency (ESA) used the Hubble Space Telescope to carry out a study called the Ultraviolet Coverage of the Hubble Ultra Deep Field (UVUDF) project, to fill in this gap in knowledge. This picture is composed of many images collected during this project.

By observing using ultraviolet light, this project may help us to fully understand how stars formed and how galaxies grew in size from small collections of very hot stars to the massive structures they are today.

Cool Fact

The Hubble Ultra Deep Field image was just one of a number of images taken by NASA and ESA. The latest is called the eXtreme Deep Field and was created by combining Hubble images taken over 10 years. The faintest galaxies in the photograph are 10 billion times fainter than the human eye can see!

Share:

Images

A Journey to the Edge of the Universe
A Journey to the Edge of the Universe

Printer-friendly

PDF file
1.1 MB